Example poetry

City schools celebrate National Poetry Month

The Foothills 2A conference recently released their All-Conference selections for the 2021-22 football season.

The East Surry Cardinals won the FH2A conference with a perfect 6-0 record. East Surry averaged 53.5 points in conference games, allowed just 8.3 points and has won each of their conference games by at least 26 points.

North Surry, Surry Central and Forbush are tied for second in the conference with 4-2 records. The three schools lost to East Surry and then went their separate ways: North lost to Forbush, Central lost to North, and Forbush lost to Central.

The Wilkes County trio of schools split to finish 1-5 in the conference each. Wilkes Central’s only victory was against West Wilkes, West Wilkes beat North Wilkes, and North Wilkes beat Wilkes Central.

Each of the top four teams advanced to the State 2A playoffs. East Surry was seeded second and won four playoff games, reaching the Western Regional Final for the fourth straight season. The Cardinals fell to No.1 Shelby in the regional final, and Shelby continued to dominate his path to a state championship victory.

East Surry’s only three losses in the past three seasons have been for teams that have won a state title: Tarboro (1AA) and Reidsville (2A) in 2020-21, and Shelby in 2021-22.

No.18 North Surry and No.19 Surry Central both fell in the first round of the state playoffs. Surry Central was beaten by No.14 West Lincoln and North Surry was defeated by No.15 Forbush. Forbush’s playoff victory was only his fourth since 1972 and the program’s first in 17 years.

Forbush lost to East Surry in the second round.

Coach / Players of the Year


East Surry’s Trent Lowman was named the FH2A Conference Coach of the Year. Lowman has been named Conference Coach of the Year three times during his four seasons with the Cardinals.

Lowman is 48-7 overall since joining East Surry, including a 21-1 record in conference. East Surry has not lost a conference game since 2018.

Lowman is also 14-3 in the playoffs.


East Surry junior Folger Boaz has been named the FH2A Offensive Player of the Year.

This is Boaz’s second All-Conference selection, also part of the squad in the 2020-21 season. The double-threat quarterback finished the year with 4,435 total yards. It was the second in NC among all the classifications and the n ° 26 in the country.

Boaz completed 227 of 324 passes for 3,475 yards and 29 touchdowns in 14 games. Folger was fourth in the state in passing yards, and his 0.701 completion percentage was the highest of any quarterback in the state who attempted at least 275 passes.

He is only the fifth player in NC history with a single-season completion percentage of over 70% with at least 275 passing attempts. The state record holder in this category is big brother Jefferson Boaz, who completed 233 of 314 assists (74.2%) at East Surry in 2019.

Folger also ran 147 times for 960 yards, scored 23 touchdowns (tied for 22nd in NC) and played five games of at least 100 rushing yards.


Senior Forbush Ayden Gardner was named FH2A Defensive Player of the Year.

Gardner recorded 56 solo tackles (T-6 in FH2A), 92 total tackles (T-6 in FH2A), 23.0 tackles for loss (No.2 in FH2A), 7.7 tackles per game (T -5 in FH2A), 6.0 sacks (T-2 in FH2A) and 3 defended assists.

His 23.0 tackles for a loss were tied for 49th in the state.


East Surry Senior Trey Armstrong was named FH2A Specialist of the Year.

He led the conference with 10 punt returns for 199 yards, including a punt for a touchdown. Armstrong also had four kickoff returns for 111 yards to bring his total return yards to 310, which finished second overall in the conference.

Armstrong’s 19.9 yards per punt return was tied for the No. 15 in the State, and his 199 yards per punt return was tied for the No. 18 in the State.

Selections from all conferences

Only seven conference players have been named Multi-Phase All-Conference.

Jahreece Lynch, Jake Simmons and Zeke Moore of North Surry, as well as Karson Crouse and Andres Gonzalez of Surry Central, and Ayden Gardner of Forbush have been named All-Conference in both attack and defense. East Surry’s Trey Armstrong was named specialist of the year on both offensive and special teams.

Repeat selections from all conferences (for Surry Co. teams only) will have the number of teams they were selected for, including 2021-22, in parentheses.


East Surry: WR Layton Allen (HM in 2020-21), RB Trey Armstrong, OL Eli Blose, QB Folger Boaz (2), WR Colby Johnson, OL Kole Pruitt, OL Sam Whitt (4)

Forbush: RB Luke Bennett, OL Ayden Gardner, OL Joe Hennings, RB Derek Matthews, OL Wesely Trivette

North Surry: WR Jahreece Lynch (2), QB James McCreary, OL Zeke Moore (2), RB Jake Simmons (2)

North Wilkes: RB Deandre Corpening, WR Chris Kimmel, QB Zack Wyatt

Surry Central: RB Karson Crouse (3), OL Andres Gonzalez (2), WR Dakota Mills (HM in 2020-21)

West Wilkes: none

Wilkes Central: OL Macklyn Harper, WR Terry Hodges


East Surry: DB Luke Bowman, DB Isaiah Arrington, LB Kyle Zinn (2), LB Joshua Parker, DL Brett Clayton, DL Joseph Grezmak

Forbush: DB Devin Diclemente, DL Ayden Gardner, DB Nate Hampton, DL Luke Hurley, LB Baylee Ramey, DL Jesse Wooten

North Surry: DB Anthony Brown (HM in 2020-21), DB Jahreece Lynch (2), LB Jake Simmons (2), LB Kam McBride, DL Ryan Simmons (2), DL Zeke Moore (2)

North Wilkes: none

Surry Central: DB Memphis Bolatto (2), LB Kade Norman (HM in 2020-21), LB Karson Crouse (3), DL Graden Spurlin, DL Andres Gonzalez (2)

West Wilkes: none

Wilkes Central: none

Honorable mentions:

Surry East: JT Simmons, Daniel Villasenor

Forbush: Chase Smitherman, Aiden Lyon

Surry North: Garrett Shore, Jace Hernandez

North Wilkes: Drew Winkler, Parker Moore

Surry Central: Avery Wilmoth, Logan Priddy

West Wilkes: Shane Gragg, Logan Wayne

Wilkes Central: Matthew Bell, CJ McGill

Source link