Example content

Wales could follow football’s lead and change name after Rugby World Cup


The Welsh Rugby Union is encouraged to follow the national football team and change its name in the future.

It was widely reported today that Wales’ national football teams could change their name to Cymru – the Welsh name for Wales – after this year’s World Cup in Qatar.

One fan wrote: ‘Rugby team should do it too, about time.

“I would like that to happen in rugby too,” commented a second.

The Football Association of Wales (FAW) already uses Cymru at its headquarters and in its communications and documents.

“The team should always be called Cymru, that’s what we call it here,” said FAW general manager Noel Mooney.

“Our view at the moment is that domestically we clearly call ourselves Cymru. That’s what we call our national teams.

“If you look at our website, how we talk about ourselves, we really are Cymru.

“Internationally, we think we still have a bit of work to do. So we are going to this World Cup with Wales.

“But I think 2023 will be a year where we have a good discussion with all the different stakeholders – whether it’s governments, our own boards, councils and decision-making bodies, staff, the club and players.

“We are a very open democratic organization and we are not unilaterally deciding today to do something like that.

“I would say that is the direction of travel, but there are no firm decisions on that. It is rather by osmosis that we go there.

Selection of an all-time Wales XV: Gibbs, Jones, Williams

RUCK chose his everythingtime Wales XV ahead of the 2019 Rugby World Cup – and it features a number of legends as well as a current star.

Best Wales XV of all time:

Fullback: JPR Williams (1969-1981) – As part of the swaggering 1970s era, he was fearless, skilful, fast, aggressive and he viewed a breach of the Wales try line as an invasion of his personal property. Factor in sideburns and socks wrapped around the ankles, and you’ve got a truly iconic silhouette.

Winger: Gerald Davies – Another of the greats of the conquering Welsh side of the 70s, all in style, deviation and accuracy with its upturned collar and poetic majesty.

Center: Bleddyn Williams (1947-55) – His career was disrupted by the Second World War when he was in the RAF, but by the time he won the last of his 22 caps in 1955 he had been captain of the Lions and had become known as “Prince of crosses” thanks to his immense leadership, robust tackling and soaring.

Center: Scott Gibbs (1991-2001) – Voted Player of the Series during the Lions Tour of South Africa in 1997, Gibbs has always had a strong impact on the pitch and after a brief stint in Rugby League he returned to Rugby Union and in 1999 scored a superb a solo try against England in the dying moments of the game secured a 32-31 victory for the Welsh.

Winger: Shane Williams (2003-2011) – He would go on to become Wales’ top try scorer, scoring 58 tries in 87 appearances, and he remains the only Welshman to win the prestigious IRB World Player of the Year award.


Source link